THE SMILE OF A PRISONER IN THE FACE OF TIME

 As a youth in my early stage of life,I could remember the day I visited the prisoners,tears keep on running through my eyes as a prisoner narrated his story.With tears I asked him,you have been sentenced to death,why are you happy,why are you smiling? Even when they are going to execute you the next two days.With tears all over my  eyes,I was looking straight into his eyes,his bears was tattered,grown and won-out,His hair  which was cut or scraped with a bottle ,his legs were filled with naked sour smelling open wounds,He was half naked with a pale of blue short,which color had turned to black,inside the pocket of his short is the house of cockroach .His legs were  color with the cob-web ,looking at his body,his ribs were almost falling out of his chest.One could ask  his or herself,when was the last time  the prisoner had at-least half square meal ?His eyes looks terrify and frighten dime and almost fallen into his body.As I keep on looking at him my heart felt,was broken into tears but to my greatest amazement.He smiles the more,I was totally confuse,I asked myself what could be his joy,his happiness in a situation that he was not feeding well,no relatives to visit him,he was rejected by the world, abandon and disowned.Even when the only alternative left was death,and just in two days time .At this time my tears gave way to my attention. I asked him broadly ,what happen to you?Why are you here?and what is your joy?That makes you keep on smiling all over and over again.He told me that it is a long story,but I plead with him because am I want to learn from his experience.

He continue by saying to me,do not cry for me,cry for the  orphans,the widows and the widower cry for them.I  fight for justice for all ,Just like the late Legend Fela kuti, I speak out for my people,But I was warned seriously by the Authorities in-charge of corruption,public embezzlement to keep silence,and see the people suffering,or to keep on speaking out,and face the penalty of death.I chosen not to keep silence,and that is why,I will be sentence in the next two days.I  said Sir you are not going to die.I could remember  the last word he said to me,before the Security man in uniform came to me and said Legend Osuji Innocent ,your time is up.I said to the officer,a minute sir ,the officer paid a deaf ear to my request, and as he was been drag out by the officer ,he said to me” If this new generation will have a change of heart and a change of mind we will get their.If and only if we can see others as ourselves,treat them with fair share,without asking which tripe he or she is coming from,the kind of language he or she speak.We will get their .This is Osuji Innocent,the living Legend reporting for wordpress.com

About osujiinnocent
I BELIEVED IN GOD,THE FATHER ALMIGHTY, AN WITH GOD I CAN DO ALL THINGS. THE MORE YOU GET TO KNOW ME THE MORE HAPPY YOU BECOME ! NOT BY MY STRENGTH ,OR POWER, BUT BY THE SPIRIT SAYS THE LORD .

Comments are closed.